Sat. Jan 29th, 2022

South Africa have their captain, Siya Kolisi, in the starting line-up after all reports suggested his Covid procedures would prevent him participating. His management will be vital in the opening hour provided his pack is a little light on experience. Kwagga Smith remains in at Number 8, and the beginning Lions props will fancy entering Ox Nché and Trevor Nyakane. Nyakane is particular had a dreadful time in the scrum during his trip for South Africa A. The backs have put the band back together for this big gig, with the complete set from the original RWC winning line-up taking the field.
Warren Gatland said today that the choice meeting for this match was the most hard hes have ever been involved in during his 4 Lions tours. When you consider some of the choices, not unexpected.
Duhan van der Werwe is provided a wing berth ahead of the exceptional Josh Adams; Ali Price leaps over trip vice-captain Conor Murray at scrum-half and Jack Conan gets the nod at Number 8 where hes not even first choice for Ireland. Captain Alun Wyn Jones completes his phoenix-esque return, if the legend of the Phoenix was the bird slamming his damaged wing consistently at the fire to put it out then rejoining his mates with little fuss.
A late withdrawal for Wyn Jones with a shoulder issue brings Rory Sutherland into the beginning XV and Mako Vunipola onto the bench.
South Africa: Willie le Roux; Cheslin Kolbe, Lukhanyo Am, Damian de Allende, Makazole Mapimpi; Handré Pollard, Faf de Klerk; Ox Nché, Bongi Mbonambi, Trevor Nyakane, Eben Etzebeth, Franco Mostert, Siya Kolisi (capt), Pieter-Steph du Toit, Kwagga Smith.
Replacements: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Lood de Jager, 20 Rynhardt Elstadt, 21 Herschel Jantjies, 22 Elton Jantjies, 23 Damian Willemse.
Lions: Stuart Hogg; Anthony Watson, Elliot Daly, Robbie Henshaw, Duhan van der Merwe; Dan Biggar, Ali Price; Rory Sutherland, Luke Cowan-Dickie, Tadhg Furlong, Maro Itoje, Alun Wyn Jones (capt), Courtney Lawes, Tom Curry, Jack Conan.
Replacements: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Mako Vunipola, 18 Kyle Sinckler, 19 Tadhg Beirne, 20 Hamish Watson, 21 Conor Murray, 22 Owen Farrell, 23 Liam Williams.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Wizadclick | WAC MAG 2022